What are the types of alimony?

If you are divorcing in Massachusetts, one thing you may need to think about is alimony. There are several different kinds of alimony and different reasons it is ordered. Understanding all these details can better enable you to strike the right alimony deal during your divorce negotiations.

Mass.gov states that alimony can be awarded to a husband or wife and may be modified even after the divorce is final. In many cases, modifications occur to end the payments or change the amount. This may be done if circumstances have changed, the person receiving the payments gets remarried or full retirement age is reached by the person making payments.

The type of alimony paid usually determines how long it is paid and the details of the payment. Transitional alimony is paid up to five years after the divorce to help your spouse adjust to the new circumstances after the divorce. Rehabilitative alimony is paid for a set time until your spouse is able to take care of him or herself without the payments. Reimbursement alimony is paid for up to five years and is considered payment for financial help your spouse may have given you during the marriage. For example, if your spouse paid for your college, you might have to pay this type of alimony.

Besides those special circumstances, alimony can also be general, which means it is paid for an amount of time that is dependent on how long you were married. It is intended to support your spouse after the divorce. This information is for education and is not legal advice.



Related Posts

Powerful. Passionate. Experienced.

We have the experience and expertise to handle any legal issue you may have, and we're here to help you every step of the way.

How May We Help You?

Pay online today!